Never Too Late

Today I’m telling myself, “It’s never too late to pick something back up again.”

The reality is that with three little kids, a husband who is starting his own companies and me writing part-time… Life is FULL. It’s been almost a year since I last posted here, but I want to pick it back up again as I can. Which might look like fewer and shorter posts, but something is better than nothing.

Since Harper was born, our family blog truly became my modern “baby book” for my kids. I’m especially sad I’ve missed so much of recording Kensi’s first year so here’s fair warning: I may do some flash backs 😉

Most recently, our family celebrated Harper graduating Kindergarten!! I really can’t believe how fast the year went. And even more unbelievable is how much she has grown up and learned – socially, academically, spiritually and interpersonally. By the end of the year, it was amazing to look around the school at the kids and families and realize the school feels like one big “family”. So much love and care and heart is there (as is true with so many schools;)… and I was in awe to feel it and see it so clearly at the end of the year.

I am overwhelmingly thankful for Harper’s teacher, Mrs. Wilson. She was the perfect first experience for Harper with “big kid” school and I think she just might be the “Kindergarten Whisperer” 😉 She is so gifted at what she does, she is the perfect blend of strict and fun and the kids (and parents!) ADORED her. Harper and I talked about her this weekend and both agreed we are going to miss her A LOT and we’re not sure why the school hasn’t employed the policy that your teacher moves up with you each year as you go?!?

On Thursday night, Jeremy and I got to take Harper to her school’s award ceremony. Harper’s class sang a cute little song in the opening of the program. We then were humbled to watch her receive both the Spanish award and the “Keeper of the Faith” award for the kindergarten class. The faith award was especially meaningful and touching as a former Rock family was able to present the award on behalf of their daughter (who was a former student), who died this past year in a car accident. I’m not sure there was a dry eye in the room by the time they finished talking and Harper got to be the first one called up to look those parents in the eyes and shake their hands. It was beyond tender.

It’s been such a blessing to watch Harper thrive this year in an environment we couldn’t have imagined possible.

We are grateful, grateful, grateful.

IMG_4417-0.JPG

IMG_4423-0.JPG

IMG_4464-0.JPG

IMG_4471-0.JPG

IMG_4478-0.JPG

IMG_4483-0.JPG

IMG_4482-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

